5 / 10 Reviews

4 Unique Facts About Balinese Tridatu Bracelet

When visiting Bali Island, maybe you ever see many local peoples with a three-colour bracelet on their right wrist. The bracelet certainly make many peoples wonder about what the meaning of it. Are you too?

The following are some unique facts you should know about the three-colour bracelet.

Translate Ke Bahasa Indonesia: 4 Fakta Unik Tentang Penggunaan Gelang Tridatu Bali

  1. Not An Usual Accessories

    A Balinese Woman With Tridatu Bracelet

Balinese people called the three-colour bracelet as Benang Tridatu, which it isn’t a usual accessories as other bracelet but religious symbol in Hindu Belief.

The Tridatu bracelet is only worn on right wrist because it’s considered sacred by the local people. And, it isn’t allowed to wear on left wrist or ankles.

  1. History of Tridatu Bracelet

    Balinese People Wear Three Colors

According to Balinese folklore, existence of Tridatu Bracelet began in 14th – 15th when Dalem Watu Renggong reigned in Gelgel Klungkung Kingdom and delegated Patih Jelantik to conquer Dalem Bungkut (King in Nusa Penida).

Patih Jelantik succeeded in conquering Dalem Bungkut and an agreement was created that the whole reign in Nusa Kingdom was handed over to Dalem Watu Renggong with one condition, namely protecting Balinese Hindu People who are obedient to God and the ancestor.

While those are negligent will be punished by Ratu Gede Macaling. And the Tridatu bracelet is used as symbol to distinguish between an obedient people and not.

  1. Meaning of Tridatu Bracelet

    Balinese Woman Dancer

Name of Tridatu comes from word “Tri” that means three and “Datu” that means power, so that Tridatu means three powers, which comes from main lords in Hindus namely: “Brahma, Wisnu, and Siwa”.

Besides that, the tridatu bracelet also symbolizes of Tri Kona that means three fases of life and consist of Utpati (birth), stiti (life), and pralina (death).

  1. Consist of Three Colors

    A Tourist Wear Tridatu Bracelet

Tridatu bracelet consist of three main colours, namely: red (symbol of Brahma), black (symbol of Wisnu), and white (symbol of Iswara/Siwa).

Besides the three colours, there are also five colours that called “Panca Datu” and nine colours that called “Sanga Datu”.